In the first innings of the second ODI between Bangladesh and the West Indies, Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium witnessed a very unusual incident. Mustafizur Rahman bowled a five-ball over which went almost unnoticed.
Mustafizur was bowling the 40th over. After bowling two legal deliveries, the fast bowler bowled a no-ball and the umpire signalled a free hit. The next delivery was again called a no-ball. That means, he had bowled two legal deliveries until that point. But the umpire called over after Mustafizur had bowled three more legal deliveries, making it a five-ball over.
As per the official scorers, it was a mistake made by the on-field umpire. They reckon that the umpire (Gazi Sohel) couldn't keep track of the legal deliveries because of two consecutive free hits.
But this isn't the first instance of a five-ball over. In 2012, on-field umpire Simon Fry called a five-ball over in an ODI between India and Sri Lanka. The over was bowled by Lasith Malinga.